Board of Education


The Board of Education appreciates your interest in the Ishpeming School District.  The board welcomes you and hopes that you will be in frequent attendance. This page will provide you with information regarding board meetings and responsibilities.

Board Meetings

Regular meetings of the Board of Education are held the third Monday of each month at 6;30 p.m. at the Ishpeming High School library. A portion of each board meeting is devoted to public comment. All meetings of the Board of Education are open to the public except those specifically exempted by the Public Act 267.

  • January 15, 2018*
  • February 19, 2018*
  • March 19, 2018
  • April 16, 2018
  • May 21, 2018
  • June 18, 2018
  • July 16, 2018
  • August 20, 2018
  • September 17, 2018
  • October 15, 2018
  • November 19, 2018
  • December 17, 2018

*Meeting is at 5:30 p.m.

Board Members

The Board of Education consists of seven residents of the district each elected to a six year term.  Members of the Board of Education are elected at even year general elections held in November.  Any qualified and registered elector who is a resident of the Ishpeming Public School District and who has attained eighteen years of age may run for election.  Nominating petitions are available in March of each year.

  • Robert Nadeau — President — 486-9365
  • Paul Healey — Vice President — 486-7431
  • Todd Kauppinen — Secretary — 486-6592
  • Tina Romback — Treasurer — 458-8154
  • Angela Johnson — Trustee — 360-1848
  • Scott Lyman — Trustee — 458-5070
  • Joe Routhier — Trustee — 458-8178


Board Responsibilities

The Board of Education is a governmental body that can take action only at a public meeting. A quorum of four members must be present in order for the board to act. Four “yes” votes are required to pass a resolution. The board is charged by law with the determination of general policies for the management of the district. As representatives of the public, the board establishes policy and manages resources to meet the educational needs of the community.