Transparency Reporting LogoMI School Data Badge

Board of Education

The Board of Education appreciates your interest in the Ishpeming School District.  The board welcomes you and hopes that you will be in frequent attendance. This page will provide you with information regarding board meetings and responsibilities.

Board Meetings
Regular meetings of the Board of Education are held at 4:00 p.m. at the Ishpeming High School library. A portion of each board meeting is devoted to public comment. All meetings of the Board of Education are open to the public except those specifically exempted by the Public Act 267.

January 15, 2024
February 20, 2024
March 18, 2024
April 15, 2024
May 20, 2024
June 17, 2024
July 15, 2024
August 19, 2024
September 16, 2024
October 21, 2024
November 18, 2024
December 16, 2024

Board Members

The Board of Education consists of seven residents of the district each elected to a six year term.  Members of the Board of Education are elected at even year general elections held in November.  Any qualified and registered elector who is a resident of the Ishpeming Public School District and who has attained eighteen years of age may run for election.  Nominating petitions are available in March of each year.

Joe Routhier -- President -- 458.8178
Angela Kangas  -- Vice-President -- 360.1848
Robert Nadeau -- Secretary -- 486.9365
Darin Hooper -- Treasurer -- 362.3902
Tim Hares -- Trustee -- 464-8231
Jenna Luoma -- Trustee -- 235.7437
Greg Maki -- Trustee -- 362-1965

Board Responsibilities

The Board of Education is a governmental body that can take action only at a public meeting. A quorum of four members must be present in order for the board to act. Four “yes” votes are required to pass a resolution. The board is charged by law with the determination of general policies for the management of the district. As representatives of the public, the board establishes policy and manages resources to meet the educational needs of the community.